Rachel Quartly – Internship for Ernst & Young.

Rachel Quartly has recently completed an internship with Ernst & Young and has written a piece about her experience and what she has gained.

IMG_2724This summer I completed an internship for Ernst & Young, working in the assurance sector of their London office. I initially applied for this position when I heard that Ernst & Young were offering scholarship places to University of Sheffield geography students. The interview process was pretty gruelling (group tasks, timed exams and an interview with a partner), but I was absolutely thrilled when I received the phone call saying I had been successful! As one of three scholars selected for this scheme, I have been able to undertake training opportunities throughout my second and third years of undergraduate study. This has involved experiences such as working as a brand ambassador, completing a ‘Corporate Social Responsibility’ programme (for mine, I chose to volunteer for a local conservation group) and attending networking sessions with current Ernst & Young employees.

Over the summer, I spent six weeks working in the office located just opposite Tower Bridge. After only two days of training, we were thrown into the deep end and spent the following weeks attending a number of client sites to assist with audit work. I was given responsibilities such as checking financial statements for errors, liaising with clients over discrepancies and attending team planning events. My personal highlight was probably being allowed to accompany a partner to a financial results presentation at the London Stock Exchange! The working days were long, but there were always plenty of social events put on to make sure we remained in good spirits – pizza making, bowling, team meals and a final-night black tie event to name just a few. During the six weeks, I gained a great insight into the workings of a global financial organisation and developed skills that I will be sure to take with me wherever I end up working in the future.

I would recommend an internship to anyone. Not only do they introduce you to possible career paths, but you get to meet a great bunch of new people and also have a lot of fun!

For more information about the application process or working for Ernst & Young, please feel to contact me at requartly1@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Leave a Reply

